Hair be gone!

After ruminating on the issue for a loooong time, I finally did something I’ve been wanting to do – I got a pixie cut! Throughout my childhood, my hair was always long (at one point reaching my butt) and then I started to get shorter. When I started university, it was as short as my chin. But I’d never really thought about a pixie cut except for saying, which I often have, “one day I’ll cut all my hair off, just to be able to say I did it!” I still say the same about shaving my hair, which I probably won’t have the guts to do for a lifetime!

I began to think seriously about a pixie maybe a year ago at the most, which mostly stemmed from my intense frustration with my hair. I love having long hair, but it’s that dastardly combination of very thick hair with fine individual strands, which has led to a lot of knots and tugs. It also barely holds a curl at all, which is a massive disappointment for me, since my hair is pretty much perfectly straight!

Very very tired of splitting my hair into two halves in order to wash it (otherwise, 99% of the time I end up missing spots with the shampoo and my hair ends up looking icky and weird) and having it get caught underneath my bag strap, and in my hoodies, and tired of the knots, et cetera… and with the encouragement of both my brother and a good friend, I booked the appointment at Liza Konu Hairdressing, a salon near me.

This is my hair before the cut…

…and this is after!

I was very very surprised not to shed even one tear, since I’m so emotional a person in general! But as soon as one of the ponytails came off, all I felt was relief. It already felt liberating, and I was happy to see that I would suit a shorter style, after all! I knew what I didn’t want, and I told Liza some of those things, but more or less let her work her magic and I was so pleased with the result. In the end it wasn’t even the type of cut I had had in mind; it was better!

A whole thirteen inches was cut, which I’m donating to the Little Princess Trust, a charity here in the UK which makes wigs for children who have lost their hair, whether from chemotherapy and or from alopecia. Both causes are dear to my heart, as I have loved ones and friends who have suffered from these diseases, and I am so glad to have been able to contribute something to help. Despite all the disadvantages my hair gave such a low-maintenance person like me, I really wanted to let someone else get as much happiness from my hair as I did.

It’s been four days since the cut, and I am in LOVE. Nothing is better than getting up in the morning and only needing to run my fingers through my hair (or a quick dusting of volumising powder). It doesn’t get in my way at all. I’ve had so many compliments from friends and family and every time I catch my reflection I’m basically punching the air! So many people say that once you join the Short Hair Club, you never go back, and right now, though of course I’m still experiencing the novelty, I can see that being true! I can’t believe how afraid I was of getting a pixie cut, and I really should have done it sooner! I adore it. I’m excited to really get creative with styling it, and I’m really looking forward to seeing how different clothing and makeup will look.

Until next time,
Sascha

Many thanks to Liza Konu Hairdressing (based in Perth, Scotland) for the cut and photographs. Link to her Facebook page here: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Liza-Konu-Hairdressing/356228671147614

Link to the Little Princess Trust website: http://www.littleprincesses.org.uk

4 thoughts on “Hair be gone!

Leave a Reply

