Cover Version Tuesday #6

This week’s song is Can’t Help Falling In Love. The original is by Elvis Presley; released in 1961, it appears on the album Blue Hawaii, which is the soundtrack to the film of the same name which also stars Elvis. The song’s also featured in the Disney film Lilo and Stitch. Here’s the song:

The cover I own is the famous UB40 version. UB40 is a British reggae/pop band. The song was released in 1993 on their tenth album Promises and Lies under a slightly different name to the Elvis Presley version – (I Can’t Help) Falling In Love With You.

That was actually my first time hearing the Elvis version! I’m not a big fan of the Hawaii blues sound, so the original was a bit more monotonous to me – it was too laid-back in comparison to the UB40 cover. As always, bias can get in the way, and I think having been a fan of the UB40 version for years probably skews my judgment somewhat. But my opinion is incidental; I’d love to hear what you guys think!

Do you find it unforgivable that I’m so ambivalent about Elvis Presley? Did UB40 revamp a good song? What version do you prefer?

Until next time,
Sascha x

Leave a Reply

