Cover Version Contest #3

Today’s contest is a bit more interesting than the previous ones! The cover featured is very different from the original, making the decision either a whole lot easier or a whole lot harder, depending on your music taste! I own and love both versions in this case, and for me it’s hard to choose simply because they’re so different!

The song is question is All About Us by Russian pop duo t.A.T.u. It was released in 2005 on their second album Dangerous and Moving. I’m including a lyrics video instead of the actual music video because that could be triggering to victims of sexual assault.

The band who covered this song is Sonic Syndicate, a band from Sweden who are considered melodic death metal or metalcore (I’m not one for categorizing music so specifically). The cover is certainly very interesting, and when I bought the album, Only Inhuman, which was released in 2007, hearing a cover of t.A.T.u song I already loved was completely unexpected!

Obviously if screamo vocals aren’t your thing, you’ll probably prefer the t.A.T.u one by default! I absolutely love Sonic Syndicate, more than I love t.A.T.u, but I’ve got to say the latter band wins this round. I think it’s an excellent cover, but the original just pips it to the post.

So what do you think? Can you handle the metal? Do you prefer to listen to pop that doesn’t make your ears bleed? Or is the original not hardcore enough for you? Which version do you prefer?

Until next Tuesday,
x

Leave a Reply

